In a world full of others, but to be all alone

To be in world
Surrounded by others
But who are out of reach to me
That it seems so hard to see
What do we he have to share
Apart from the odd piercing stare
I reach out almost daily
For friendship and gaiety
But it seems so hard to get
So hard that I often forget
To make that next step
To reach out and expect
There to be a shoulder to cry on
Arms to reach out and hold on
The only embrace
That is always at my place
Is the cold comfort of loneliness
The heartbreaking empty stoniness
Of a world with no lover
No person, no other
To share my life’s journey
To see my life’s tourney
There are billions of others
Who travel uncovered
My trips are enclosed
Almost always indisposed
Unable to make connections
Afraid of total rejection
So life it goes on
WIthout someone to lean on
I have become accepting
And this is my lot
God I wish it were not
But my world keeps on spinning
And I try to keep on grinning
You see no one cares
When a lonely man stares

CS

20120624-221520.jpg

8 thoughts on “In a world full of others, but to be all alone

  1. El Guapo says:

    Great great poem, Captain.
    May I ask, is this the regular truth of it, or written in a moment of melancholy?

    • Capt. Savage says:

      It’s just a moment of melancholy, not my permanent views, and more of a poem than a reflection of my own state. Thanks for enjoying and commenting. I find it healing to put something out there, and since a friend got me blogging I’ve found it a great medium for getting things out there.

      CS

  2. Debbie says:

    This is quite beautiful, Captain!
    I’m glad El Guapo asked and you answered the questions it raised in my heart.

    • Capt. Savage says:

      Thanks Debbie, glad you found it beautiful. I found it healing to write, to get it off my chest and out in the open, even though it was only a passing moment or thought bubble.

      CS

  3. iamnotshe says:

    I’m so glad you shared your moment of melancholy. I have those JABBING moments too. I guess (since i’m assuming i’m a human) i’m not alone in my moments of despair. You know, but sometimes that loneliness is a punch in the gut and seems insurmountable. But that’s me … a little reactionary … sometimes can’t see the forest for the trees (so i like the pic too). xo, friend! How long are your arms … yes i said arms. Here’s a hug. Mel

    • Capt. Savage says:

      Thanks for the hug Mels…. same back at you 🙂

      Loneliness is sometimes a recuring cancer which needs to be continuously treated as it reappears. It is not quite depression, but I can associate with people who suffer with it. Loneliness is also something that you can suffer even in a room full of people or even sitting next to your best friend. Often it is the result of frustration of not being able to truly express your feelings for another for fear of rejection or ridicule. Yes the little picture appealed to me to.

      CS

  4. You know, you really are a good poet (as well as accountant). You have no lover NOW. But she’s on order. She’s very special, and has to be hand-made and delivered from outermost Somewhere – you just have to be patient.

  5. Capt. Savage says:

    You are far too kind Rose, I’m glad that you enjoyed the poem. I only wish I could write poetry on command or as I felt like it, not just when I am overtaken by emotion or frustration. But there is one lesson I am slowly learning, its that there is no magic lover factory, no special delivery service, no god like person lovingly craft the perfect match for me. I’m over patience, and telling myself that “good things come to those who wait”, as my mum used to tell me. Fruit has to be picked, even if it is low hanging. I’m going to start grabbing things, not waiting around on the shelf until my use by date comes around.

    One thing I am glad of is that I have a special friend like you 🙂

    CS

Leave a comment