Can’t leave anything anywhere these days!!!

You can’t trust anyone these days!!!

Everyone where I live tries to look after themselves, to make sure they are safe, and they expect that safety and security especially in their own homes. But don’t go expecting that where I live it seems. If it isn’t nailed down, bolted and screwed and glued, someone somehow is going to steal it. So far that has included clothes of the clothes line, and several pushbikes, chairs and tables, and even an outdoor BBQ on a balcony. Nothing is seems is too hard to steal.

My stolen Avanti bike

I personally have suffered from the of curse of my units. I had just purchased a lovely new pushbike and I proudly rode around for a week showing off to work mates and friends etc. I also managed to fall of several times, because I bought the bike and assumed I’d still be able to ride after not riding since I was at school, but that’s another story.

Now I thought I’d protected it by purchasing one of those really heavy-duty bike locks and a chain, you know the ones with an industrial strength looking combination lock and heavy-duty looking wire encased in plastic. I thought it would be safe even from a nuclear Armageddon, but shock horror, within a week of storing the bike overnight down in the security garage it was gone. Someone just walked into the garage, probably one of my fellow residents, cut the wire lock off and walked off with it. The picture above is of my of my former pride and joy (my bike, sob, makes me sad to this day)… I was mostly upset because I hadn’t even got it onto my insurance policy yet ($1,000 odd dollars down the drain).

So I wasn’t surprised when recently I got home to find a pathetic little note in my letterbox from someone else who’d suffered a similar fate to me, except in his case it was his car.

Now normally when a persons car is stolen the thieves then either takes it somewhere else and sell it, or they take it somewhere to strip it for parts, and then trash the car. But these weren’t your usual car villains, no they were a little bit cheekier than usual.

A typical burnt out Subaru wreck

This is the normal treatment of a stolen Subaru WRX, at least from my experience.  But in this case they didn’t even bother to take it out of the car out of the garage. They actually stripped in where is sat, parked in the car park. Now this is a security underground car park, with remote-controlled doors, security codes, iron grates, the works, and the car is in a spot just across from my car spot.

These cheeky thieves stole the usual things, which included the car stereo and the lovely expensive alloy wheels. You see this wasn’t your usual WRX, it was a fully kitted out hoon mobile. The kind of noisy monster that has an exhaust pipe that you could fit the average head inside.

Now once the thieves got started they were having such a good time that they just got a little bit carried away. Because not only did they nick the stereo and stuff, but they also stole the all the seats, the front headlights, and the dashboard as well for good measure. The best part about this was that after doing all of this work, they carefully put the cover back over the car so that it looked almost like nothing had happened.

What amazed me is how the hell did they get all that stuff out without anyone noticing? We aren’t just talking a little bit of stuff, they would have needed a van or something and there must have been more than one of them. The police were amazed and couldn’t believe nobody noticed anything.

The worst part for this fellow has that he had lost his licence anyway (for being a hoon), so the car

Here is an impounded Hoon WRX (same as the victims)

had been sitting in the garage for months. But this guy was a caring hoon and lovingly looked after his car, making sure that it was started regularly, a very caring car hoon indeed (well at least as far as his car went).Up until just a month ago the shell of the car was still sitting on bricks in his car space (poor fellow).

So you may be wondering where do I store my pushbikes now? Considering my unit complex appears to be infested with thieves. Both of them live in my unit with me, cared for like they are part of my family (which they are). And my car, well luckily it’s so boring that no self-respecting thief would be seen near it.

My favourite part of this tale is the way the thieves ever so carefully put the car cover back, and that they managed to do all of that work without a single person including me even hearing or seeing a thing.

Has anyone else had something stolen from their place or in unusual circumstances?

4 thoughts on “Can’t leave anything anywhere these days!!!

  1. I can’t believe people are so nervy / cheeky. I’ve read in the paper people walking into people’s houses in broad daylight, pointing a gun at whoever answers the door and lift anything of value and leave after another threat. Scary stuff.

    What is a hoon?

  2. Capt. Savage says:

    Hi,
    Hoon is a derogatory term used in Australia and New Zealand, to refer to a anyone who engages in loutish, anti-social behaviours. In particular, it is used to refer to one who drives a car or boat in a manner which is anti-social by the standards of contemporary society, that is, fast, noisily and/or dangerously. In other words they are generally loud and obnoxious types who drive cars (badly), race each other, have hotted up cars, and should be the first against the wall when the revolution comes. See the following link for more, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hoon/

    Capt. Savage
    (Magazines loaded and ready for action)

  3. I would want to do horrible things to those people! Once someone took my handbag which I’d stupidly left on a table in the mall and stole everything in it – even though I went back for it within 1 minute of having left it there. The actual bag was found months later in a bin in the ladies’. I sometimes wonder what goes through the minds of people who steal things. Do they feel guilty? Or do they feel like they’re just evening things up a bit?

    • Capt. Savage says:

      No, if they felt guilty they wouldn’t steal things… Sounds like the thief was a lady (or a cross dresser), seeing as the bag was found in the ladies toilets afterwards. Cross dresser theory sounds a bit more interesting… I agree it’s pretty rotten, at another house I was mowing the lawn and left the garage open. I was only away for a couple of minutes but someone snuck in and stole my ladder and my golf clubs. Kind of did me a favour as I am always falling off ladders and I’m a lousy golfer 🙂

      CS
      (Always plays the ball, never the man)

Leave a comment